New Delhi, May 30: Narendra Modi took oath as Prime Minister of India for the second term at the forecourts of Rashtrapati Bhavan on Thursday. President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath of office and secrecy to him and 57 other members of Council of Ministers in the presence of nearly 8,000 guests, making it the biggest-ever event held at the sprawling campus. The new Modi government has 19 first timers.

The new team has 25 Cabinet Ministers, 24 Minister of State and 9 Minister of State with Independent Charge.

Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman, Nitin Gadkari, Ram Vilas Paswan, Sadananda Gowda, Smriti Irani, Narendra Singh Tomar, Ravi Shankar Prasad were among the top leaders who joined Modi Sarkar 2.0.

Heads of BIMSTEC nations, Kyrgyzstan President Sooronbay Jeenbekov and Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Jugnauth were also present for the function. Governors and Chief Ministers of all the states were also invited. Congress president Rahul Gandhi, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, former PM Manmohan Singh, LK Advani  and several other Opposition leaders attended the swearing-in ceremony. Barring CMs of West Bengal (Mamata Banerjee), Kerala (P Vijayan, Odisha (Naveen Patnaik) and Punjab (Amarinder Singh), several CMs were present on the occasion.

Banner Content


Leave a Comment