Ziraat Times News

Srinagar, Dec 10: Putting the speculations to rest about his being the next probable Governor of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), Dr Haseeb Drabu Monday evening said that “he was not in the race.”

Responding to Ziraat Times question about the possibility of him being the next Governor of the RBI, Dr Drabu said that he was not running for the position. 

On Monday, Reserve Bank of India’s present Governor Dr. Urjit R. Patel resigned from his position citing ‘personal reasons’ for his decision. He was serving the RBI September 4, 2016 onwards, after his predecessor Raghuram Rajan stepped down from the post.

Dr. Raghuram G. Rajan served the central bank for three years, between September 4, 2013 to September 4, 2016.

Dr Haseeb Drabu has previously served as the Finance Minister for J&K government. 

He has also been involved with national economic policy making in India for a decade, including in the Planning Commission, Finance Commission and the Economic Advisory Council of the Prime Minister. He was instrumental in writing of the report of the Tenth Finance Commission which changed the fiscal federal relations in India.

He has also served as an editor at Business Standard.    

Ziraat Times has compiled the following list of the RBI governors who have served the bank in the post 1990 era.

Dr. D. Subbarao

September 5, 2008 to September 4, 2011

September 5, 2011 to September 4, 2013 (close of business)   


September 6, 2003 to September 5, 2008

Dr. Bimal Jalan

November 22, 1997 to September 5, 2003

Dr. C.Rangarajan

December 22, 1995 to November 22, 1997

December 22, 1992 to December 21, 1995 

S. Venkitaramanan

December 22, 1990 to December 21, 1992

R.N. Malhotra

February 04,1985 to December 22, 1990